

MINUTES ANNUAL MEETING Tuesday, May 16, 2023 | 1:00-4:30 p.m. CT Pioneer Room, State Capitol, Bismarck, ND

1) Call to Order

Chair Julie Garden-Robinson welcomed members and called the North Dakota Cancer Coalition annual meeting to order at 1:00 p.m. CT on Tuesday, May 16, 2023, at the State Capitol, Bismarck, ND, with 54 members present.

2) Business Meeting

- a. Minutes from the June 15, 2022, meeting were presented. Tara Schilke made a motion to approve the minutes as presented. Jodie Fetsch seconded the motion. Motion carried.
- b. Maria Schmidt provided the treasurer's report as follows: Balance as of June 15, 2022, was \$5,503.75 and current balance as of May 16, 2023, \$4,073.27. Jocelyn Dunnigan made a motion to accept the treasurer's report. Erica Brauner seconded the motion. Motion carried.
- c. Christina Cook, NDCC Secretary, presented new members since June 2022 as follows: Melissa Lizakowski, Sanford Health Roger Maris Cancer Center; Teresa Wheeler, Johnson & Johnson; Kate LaVelle, Professional Data Analysts; Emily Groebner, Professional Data Analysts; Dustin Hammond, NDSU Extension, Logan County; Denise Brown, Cancer Survivor; Shelly Davis, Foundation ND; Jessica Beckstrand, The American Childhood Cancer Organization; Beverly Greenwald, Angelo State University; Michelle Earl, Altru Health System; Steph Rieniets, Sanford Health; Bobbie Will, Susan G. Komen Foundation; TyAwna Ackerman, Jacobson Memorial Hospital Care Center; Charlie Hackworthy, Exact Sciences; Mikisha Longie, IHS; Heather Kranitz, Sanford Health; Robyn Arnold, Heart of America Medical Center; Faune Himmelspach, NDSU DNP Student; Jill Ireland, American Cancer Society; Jenny Hallenbeck-Orr, Hospice of the RRV; Melani Kline, Southwest Healthcare Services. Sara Anderson made a motion to accept the new members. Maria Schmidt seconded the motion. Motion carried.
- d. New Comprehensive Cancer Control Plan staff, Annette Clark, Program Director, and Mikaila McLaughlin, Coalition Coordinator, introduced themselves.
- e. Nominating Committee, Maria Schmidt and Mikaila McLaughlin presented the candidates for office as follows: Brian Halvorson, Vice Chair; Mary Sahl, Secretary. No additional nominations were received. Maria Schmidt made a motion to cast a unanimous ballot for the candidates for office as presented. Jodie Fetsch seconded the motion. Motion carried.
- f. Geneal Roth, Coalition Coordinator, invited attendees to review the Action Team summary included in their handouts. She introduced each team to stand and be recognized for their participation.
- g. Turn ND Blue Photo Contest—The winners of the 2023 Turn ND Blue photo contest were announced and photo canvasses were presented to the winners who were in attendance. 1) Hospital Category—Winner: First River Care Center, Park River; Honorable Mention: Standing Rock Service Unit. 2) Other Direct Patient Care Organization—Winner: Bismarck Cancer Center, Bismarck; Honorable Mention: Bismarck Burleigh Public Health.
 3) Non-Medical Worksite/Education—Winner: KAT and Company; Honorable Mention: ScreeND (QHA).
- h. There being no further business, Jocelyn Dunnigan made a motion to adjourn the business meeting. Dustin Hammond seconded the motion. Motion carried.

3) Presentations

- Amy Artz, Breast Cancer Survivor, Bottineau, ND, shared her cancer journey from prior to her diagnosis to her completion of treatment.
- Rajean Backman, CHI St. Alexius, provided the presentation, Making the Case for Assessing and Treating Tobacco Dependence in Cancer Patients.
- Sarah Berndt and Corina Larson, Bismarck Cancer Center; Sara Anderson, Essentia Health, Fargo; and Megan Rogers, Sanford Roger Maris Cancer Center, Fargo, provided an overview of survivorship services available at each of their facilities. They discussed topics focusing on tobacco cessation, mentoring, integrative treatment, oncofertility, programs for children and their families, and additional services.

 Kate Lavelle and Emily Groebner led a session to help members discover the value of the North Dakota Cancer Coalition to members and to North Dakota.

Respectfully submitted,

Christina Cook Secretary